top of page
Search
  • Ethan Stykes

The Invisible Talent

Updated: Dec 16, 2020

Artists mostly go unrecognized not because they lack talent, but because they lack opportunities. This venture of mine is to provide the unnoticed with an audience.


About the Author


Welcome to Energy Flash. I'm an Entrepreneur and a music enthusiast. Music has always been a part of my life though I never received music lessons in my childhood. I don't consider myself to be of musical talents, but I've always been confident about my creativity. I always wanted to contribute something to the world of music. So I would spent a lot of my time writing songs, singing and recording but gradually realized that my real talent lied in other fields. Even though I've chosen my career in other fields I still try to keep my musical instincts alive. I'm currently a part-time internet DJ and I create Electronic Music tracks under my record label Stykes Records*. Also I'm working on an Artificial Intelligent music studio software under my unregistered startup Stykes™. This blog is a subsidiary mission of Stykes™.


The twisted pop culture

Ever wondered why only some of the artists get recognition when the majority of talented people get left out? Luck is not the only factor.

The increasing concentration of popularity centered around a single personality is kind of the rule of the modern society and the pop culture. The trend among the millennials and the newest addition to the generation list called the generation-z is not to worship artists for their musical talents, but for the air of sophistication of their public portrayals. It is a chain reaction that makes the popular more popular, and in that process the unrecognized get left behind as they always had been. There are different factors that set apart the popular from those who are not. The social networks like Instagram have a huge role to play in it. Being active in the social media helps the celebrities increase their perceived importance. The basic reason behind this phenomenon is called The Mere-Exposure Effect. Psychologically people tend to develop a preference for things merely because they are familiar with them. In social psychology, this effect is sometimes called the familiarity principle. Anyway building a social profile is not an easy task. Factors like physical attractiveness and financial ability to invest in personal branding are important in being popular in the modern music industry and they are in no way related to musical talents.

We can't change the pop culture, but we can provide opportunities. The love for good music is alive in the hearts of people.

We see people Stan underground artists in platforms like SoundCloud and it is a real good proof for the fact that people want more than the mainstream popular music. Good music always has its importance, and our mission is to show it to the light.


*Stykes Records: https://stykes.wixsite.com/records

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page